Travel bug

I haven’t been very well for the last few weeks and I’m so sick of this gloomy Melbourne Winter weather that I’m dreaming of travelling again. Truth be told, my mind is always on travelling but the travel bug is getting stronger and I thought I’d spend this morning listing places I’ve been thinking about for a while now.

California

1. California

I’ve been to California before but it was brief. During my brief stay last year, I fell in love with the weather and the chill and relaxed nature of its inhabitants. I only had one day in LA, two days in San Diego, one day in San Francisco and two days at Bass Lake and hiked in Yosemite National Park. I especially want road trip along the coast, find solace at Salvation Mountain, see Audrey Kawasaki‘s work in her own hometown, hug Mickey at Disneyland and explore Little Saigon.

Paris

2. Paris

Parisian culture and lifestyle has always intrigued me. I’ll definitely smell flowers in Monet’s Garden, take the mandatory Eiffel Tower photos, smile at Mona Lisa at the Louvre and munch on croissants in St Germaine. It’s a place I know I will love everything about!

Japan

3. Japan

Everyone is always surprised when I say that I have never been to Japan. It’s an assumption many friends have made because I was a huge Japanese fangirl back in my teenage years and I love Japanese food. I’ll be taken away into the imagination of the Studio Ghibli museum and the ‘kawaii-ness’ of Sanrio Puroland but that will ease as I will reach zen as I relax in my own onset at a Japanese style inn.

Iceland

4. Blue Lagoon, Iceland

I dislike the cold but something about this place draws me in. The contradiction of its existence and its beauty. It’s also only 39 km from Reykjavik and its quaint colourful houses is like an illustration from a children’s book!

Hungary

5. Hungary

I honestly do not know much about Hungary but Eastern Europe has been calling out to me for a long time. Something about not knowing exactly what the language sounds like, what kind of food, what kind of sights to see is so alluring. One thing for sure it is a beautiful place.

Western Australia

6. Pink Lake, Western Australia

Something closer to home for me. Who knew a lovely natural wonder is just two states away? Possible road trip!

Greece

7. Greece

Sun baking on the white beaches; sipping cocktails on a little boat and dipping into the azure waters and walking amongst the remnants of civilisations past. The colours of this place just make me smile.

New York

8. New York City

Of course. I’ve been there twice on solo trips and love it even more each time.

5 comments
  1. Amanda said:

    Good list! I can’t believe your time in California was sooo brief! I reckon you probably would have been better off spending that length of time in any one place, rather than one day in so many places…

    Gah, the travelbug has got me big time as well. I have flights to New York and London for December and February, and I simply CANNOT wait.

  2. Maggie said:

    Greece looks so nice! Each time I see a photo of there, it reminds of Sisterhood of the traveling pants, lol.

  3. Tara said:

    I’m getting the travelbug, too. I primarily want to go back to Japan (this time to Osaka and Kyoto, with a stop in Tokyo), but my lack of fundings prevents me from going :( Gotta save up now that I’m done with my postgraduate degree! I also am wanting to visit Europe, in particular Holland, Czech Republic, and England. The states wouldn’t be bad for me, either, but Europe and Japan are calling my name XD

    I hope you can go soon! Travelling is very fun!

  4. Cat said:

    I love your list! I actually plan on going to NY and Japan this year. I used to live in NY though, so it’s mainly a family visit. I’m currently looking up tickets for my Japan trip and figuring out things to see :) I’m soooo excited for it.

    Australia is on my list as well as Norway. I almost went to Paris when I was in London. They have trains between them that only take 2 hours!

    I hope you’re feeling better, and I hope you’ll be able to visit some of the places on your list!

  5. Jana Miller || One Design a Day said:

    Next time you are in California, try Laguna Beach-Lovely beaches! We are just heading into fall and the temperture is perfect!

Leave a Reply

