It’s almost mid-year and have things changed!

Hiya! I know it’s been 3-4 months and everything looks so different on the world-wide web! As some of you may know from my last last post, I have completed a Certificate IV in Design. YAYAY! It was absolutely amazing- creating art everyday was a dream come true. I never thought I’d wake up in the morning (I’m not a morning person) and be excited. Packed into three months with two talented teachers at the helm we blitzed through theory, design software and briefs (30+ briefs in 3 months!). The experience was also heightened by being surrounded by 21 like-minded individuals, despite our varying backgrounds- pharmacists, musicians, marketing majors, architects, fashion designers, event planners, we all wanted the same thing… to create beautiful and meaningful work.

It was far more busy than I expected, I was planning to sign up to Japanese classes but after the first few weeks that thought was pushed for another time. After spending 9 hours a day sitting in front of a computer and letting our creativity go to the max, all I wanted to do when I got home was shut my eyes. I thought talking medicine and seeing medicine was bad, but now my senses cannot escape bad kerning or leading. Haha. However, this course has made me view the world differently, instead of seeing design as “good or bad”, I see it’s meaning. It may not be my taste but I appreciate it for its concept and handwork the designer put into it and the world has become more beautiful because of that.

It’s been 3-4 weeks since I graduated and I admit it’s been hard sitting at home with no teacher or class mate pushing you on. I’ve never been not working or learning so having this lull is rather uncomfortable. However I took this year for a reason- to chase my dreams and to get organised, so I have..

Ah it’s so nice to be writing again :)

Leave a Reply

