The Journey

The last few months have been tough and I’ve been going through a lot of learning curves and re-learning curves. In October I took some time off work due to illness and then had my annual leave.

For my annual leave I went on a holiday which I had organised earlier this year (who knew I would find myself in a position where I might need to cancel a trip because of illness) however my friends and doctors advised me to go thinking it would be the best thing. It was.

For 11 days I cruised along the West Coast of the United States of America in a coach with 50 other travellers from around the world. Everyday was a new experience, with new sights, facts, experiences and people. I was excited to wake up in the morning even if it meant I only had 3 hours sleep the night before. The sunshine, the backdrop, the people- it was just what I needed to give me a boost. Then I moved onto Oaxaca, Mexico where I met aa new group of travellers and joined in on the festivities of the Day of the Dead festival. Mind-blowing. Looking back it feels like a dream. There was a sense of madness and magic in the air which I can’t quite comprehend. To end the 3 weeks, I retreated to NYC. I was in NYC last year and I just wanted to go back to a place I was familiar with and experience it more as a “local.” It suited perfectly because the 3 weeks had worn me out more than I thought . I spent my days wandering downtown, dining at cute cafes, shopping and returning to my little hotel for an early night and indulging in reality TV.

I’ll definitely post more of my experiences, but I guess from meeting all those amazing people in my travels; I befriended 18 to 80 year olds; students to art teachers to cab drivers to music producers, that it made me realise that there was no race in life. We spend so much time comparing and wishing we forget about the big picture.

Before this break I felt stagnant and that I was going no where in life and that nothing had changed. But when talking to younger travellers on my trip I realised I had changed. I may not have the obvious husband, house or sure career but I have grown up and every day I learn something more about myself. I am different to the girl I was at 16, 21 and even last year! And it doesn’t stop there as I have noticed with the older travellers- we’re constantly evolving and finding ourselves. There’s no right path and sometimes we create a path we didn’t know we needed like for me and these last few months.

There’s no shame in falling. There’s no shame in making mistakes or making the same mistake several times before you get the message. It’s all part of the experience. If you’re constantly comparing yourself to your inner circle you’ll forget the world around you. It’s much bigger than you realise. One day at a time. One moment at a time. It’s going to be a hell of a journey from here.

 

Leave a Reply

