The Week in Night Shift

I’m so glad to be back in the daylight after a week of night shifts. Working in the Emergency Department in a rural town is very different to the city. There’s only me and another doctor (of my level) manning the department (and the other 200 patients in the hospital!) and we have very limited resources.

As 7am comes around, there’s a general sense of relief in the Emergency Department- just 1 and a half hours to go! Now to have all our fingers and toes crossed that nothing “serious” comes in. I’ve had 2 “Code Strokes” being wheeled in at 7:30am which has been interesting. By 8:30am I’m strolling in the crisp morning air to my little unit, as the world wakes up into action all I can think about is sleep.

When I get the chance I always duck into the staff room for a cup of tea, glass of water or if we’re lucky a plate of scones and jam or
“fresh” doughnuts. If I have a few minutes to spare, maybe I’ll peruse through the trashy magazine on the table… sometimes you just need to take a breather before stepping out into the department again.

My stomach definitely gets confused with the change in timing. I find myself craving both breakfast and dinner and sometimes combine the two. The other day I had a bowl of cereal then pasta before bed!

The best thing about nights is the days off you get afterwards! I have 6 days off and I’m back home in Melbourne to catch up with friends and family, finish design work, watch movies, plan my annual leave(!) and of course catch up on sleep!

What are your plans for the week?

1 comment
  1. I can imagine that working at night when you aren’t used to it is difficult! My dad used to work the night shift, and when I was in college I worked 2-12 p.m. at Panera and then they switched me to 4 a.m. – 12 p.m. which screwed me all up, too. It’s weird how our bodies get so used to a certain schedule. Also, we have the same theme, haha! Good taste! =D

Leave a Reply

