Step back from the Internet

I think I’ve started to develop an Internet myopia, where may sense of gratitude relies heavily on the Internet. I wake up in the morning and the first thing I do is check my Facebook and feed my chickens on Castle Story (a new dangerous addiction). I get home from work and peruse my Google reader while eating chips. Once I’ve done my regular design blog browsing, inspirational reading, fashion gawking and Googling any other topic which comes to mind I start watching random YouTube videos, often revisiting old ones.

It becomes an endless search for satisfaction or maybe for something to fill up time or a distraction… Before I know it I have a headache, some form of eyes train and have lost 3 hours, which could’ve beenΒ used to meditate, study, make a proper meal, exercise(!) or create.

As a result, you’re not really distracting yourself from what you’re running away from – it will come back to bite you. Most of the time it’s not filling your time with something useful, something which can improve your life. Hey don’t get me wrong the Internet is an endless resource for inspiration, but sitting around all day looking at what others are doing is not going to get you anywhere unless you’re doing it.

8 comments
  1. Amber said:

    I know what you mean. I am such a tech addict, and am half proud, half ashamed to admit that if I didn’t have kids I would happily spend 16 hours a day, every day in front of my laptop. Then again, I’m a web designer and blogger…. and a workaholic, lol. Because I have kids, and I hate them seeing me on my computer, I only take a few hours a day to do work, and then go on after they’ve gone to bed at night.

    I used to use it as a satisfaction thing… perhaps even as a companion sort of thing, because I used to be a really lonely person. Now, though, I just use it for work, reading blogs I love, and sometimes discovering cool new ones (like yours!)

    Good post!

  2. Amber said:

    Oh, just read your about page, I see your from Melbourne. So jealous! I’ve always wanted to visit. A doctor… that’s crazy. Congrats. Lots of schooling!

    Nice to have found your blog! :)

  3. M said:

    nope nope i’m too far gone now
    i am at my computer at my work all day so i guess it actually decreases the amount of internet hours at home but not less in general
    x__x

    but i know what you mean~ it’ll be okay. you still go out tons!

  4. Carrie said:

    Wow! We are so alike! I am addicted to the internet, like seriously. I have a bad addiction. I wake up in the morning, pass the bathroom when I am almost peeing in my pants just to check my e-mails and Facebook! It’s bad.. Real bad.

    Thank God I am not the only one out there :)

  5. Cat said:

    Oh man, I know what you mean. It got worse when I got a smart phone, since I also use it as an alarm. The first thing I do is check my email on it when I wake up. I also work at a computer all day, so I surf the net while I work, then I come home and do more things on the web. It’s a pretty bad habit, and I’m trying to focus on my other hobbies to get me away from the computer!

  6. Liz(a) said:

    I’ve sort of gotten better at this, actually. I’ve been putting more time into writing, and then some into reading. I’ve mostly been sleeping, though.

    But I do think it’s rather easy to start relying on the Internet to make one happy. Maybe that’s why I keep taking on more projects for myself. :x

  7. Leanne said:

    “Hey don’t get me wrong the Internet is an endless resource for inspiration, but sitting around all day looking at what others are doing is not going to get you anywhere unless you’re doing it.” True that, I feel like this is me on most days but I’m trying… It’s tough.

    My friend once said to me, “It’s better than sitting at home on the computer doing nothing right?” after we had been hanging out and doing nothing in real life. Haha, sometimes you sort of forget that you can do nothing with people rather than do nothing by yourself on the computer.

  8. Maria said:

    Hmmm, I am right there with you all. I feel a dilemma with the internet, like I’m a graphic designer, so I’m on a computer a lot, but I also like to read blogs and etc. look at interesting things on the internet, but sometimes I just won’t get up off of my bed to create or do anything interesting and that’s STUPID. I also get up in the morning and the first thing I do is check facebook and everything else :( I’m glad I’m not the only one, but it’s still so DUMB and I just want to be able to have a healthier relationship with this cool resource, you know?

    We just have to make better habits. I get stuff done, but I would get more things done and honestly, I think I’d be more creative if I was on the internet less looking and clicking on everything under the sun as ‘inspiration’.

    I’m glad you posted about this. (I just found your blog :D)

Leave a Reply

