Tablet drawing

I think using my annual leave to relax, rejuvenate and to sort out my life has been a good idea. I was so keen to jump on a plane and just get away from this place, but then the problem is I’ll come back and I can’t avoid “reality” forever. This week has been a really productive week- I’ve started cleaning out my closet; gone to the dentist; found a GP for myself; dealt with issues I’ve been avoiding and reignited long-lost hobbies…

I love drawing and sketching; and for those who have followed me for a long time know I used to go to Dr Sketchy. I guess in highschool there were set times to sit down and be creative but as you go through university then get a job, you have to find time. I find it very meditative and I wish I had more time/dedication to get better at it.

My boyfriend bought me the Intuos tablet 2 years ago and it’s been in the last year that I’ve started experimenting with it. You may have noticed my handwriting in a few photos :p During the last 2 days, I’ve been trying my hand at sketching with the tablet. Still getting used to and lots of experimenting but I’m having a lot of fun! I hope to integrate it more into designs and other projects! Here are my first 3 sketches, hope you like them!

If you have any tips or pointers about how to sketch on tablets, I would love to know!

6 comments
  1. Carrie said:

    Wow, you have excellent artistic abilities! I can only draw stick figures. I’m not good with detail, not at all. Lol!

    Have fun!

  2. Cat said:

    I want an Intuos too! My Wacom tablet broke a while ago, and I still haven’t replaced it. I’d like to be better at sketching on a tablet too. I used to sketch it on paper first, scan it, then use it as a guide for re-drawing on the computer. It helps, but it’s extra work, heh. Your sketches look good though! The first is my favorite of the 3 :)

  3. tiff said:

    Ohhhh how cool! I’ve never used a tablet before so I can’t really offer any solid advice, but those images are looking pretty cool. You should draw more often.

  4. Miss Y said:

    Very nice drawings :)

    I’m envious of your talent.

  5. Thao said:

    Thats one of the few things I didn’t get to do over my break is to have some productive time alone and organize my stuff. *sigh* Apartment is still a mess with my stuff everywhere…

    I like your drawings. They remind me of Garance Dore’s style of sketching, which I absolutely love but can’t do. Now you make me want to do some sketches for fun.

  6. Nice sketches! I am no good artist and especially when it comes to drawing portraits or people. It’s nice to be able to get back long-lost hobbies. You’re right about life being too busy for anything. Somehow we just seem to have more free time when we were younger!

Leave a Reply

