2012 Review

I always find it bizarre that as the year draws to a close you feel that nothing has happened but on closer inspection 2012 was a huge year full of growth and celebration for me and for those around me! :)

Things I’ve learnt in 2012

  • Don’t hate people for not understanding
  • It’s never as bad as you think it is… Don’t let negativity rule your life!
  • Success does not come to people in a day, it takes lots of handwork, so there’s no point complaining how much money or connections someone  has – they worked their butt off to get where they are and you need to do that to achieve your dreams :)

Things I’ve done in 2012 which I’ve never done before

  • Firstly, I started work as a Doctor! :) I’ve laughed, bitched, cried, but most importantly I’ve met so many amazing and inspiring people in the form of bosses, colleagues and patients who have taught me so much in Medicine, Surgery and myself! – definitely too many new experiences in this one to list!
  • Befriended a stray kitten my boyfriend’s cousin rescued
  • I finally got around to doing outfit posts in a means to motivate me to dress up more and avoid t-shirts and jeans all the time.
  • Saw Strassman live!
  • Wine tasting at Brown Brothers Winery
  • Cheese tasting in Milawa
  • Had the degustation menu at a 3 hat restaurant
  • Took the plunge to travel solo again..  packed my bags and jetted off to New York City where awaited a whirl-wind adventure! Part 1 and Part 2
  • A whole lot of experiences in NY, including going crazy in Sephora, climbing The Rock, watching The Lion King on Broadway and celebrating my first proper Halloween!
  • Took my family to a high-class buffet last night! I’m not a big fan of buffets, but when the menu consists of sashimi, Peking duck, fresh seafood and chocolate fountains… it definitely provides a different experience!
  • Enjoyed rural Victoria
  • Randomly found myself at a Mexican festival :p
  • Saw the “How to Train Your Dragon” arena spectacular
  • Saw lots of great movies this year including: 21 Jump Street, The Avengers, The Dark Knight Rises, Looper, Wreck It Ralph and Pitch Perfect!

I didn’t blog as much as I would like with work commitments taking a lot of my time, but I hope to blog more next year!  Thank-you for joining me in 2012, I’ll see you next year! xx

8 comments
  1. I see two kitty pictures—and automatically, I think that’s a great year you had LOL
    That’s amazing…you’re a doctor??? You look so young, too! :D Amazing!

    nyuu } lolitium.net

  2. ilovebeingonline said:

    Your food photos, YUM! =)

    You’re right, success definitely doesn’t come within one day. I work hard!

    I always tend to get angry with my fiancee for not knowing something.. Maybe I need to stop doing that – it’s not fair because I don’t know everything either.

    ♥Carrie
    http://ilovebeingonline.com

  3. Cat said:

    I like the list of things you learned in 2012! I especially agree with how it’s never as bad as you think. It always feels horrible in the moment, but looking back, it’s often not as bad as it seemed then.

    Congrats on starting work as a doctor this year! That’s a huge accomplishment. I hope that’s going well :D I’m also amazed that you traveled solo to NY. I’ve been to NY before, but never on my own. Actually, now that I think about it, I guess I rarely travel solo to begin with. It kind of scares me!

    Sounds like you had a good 2012 :) I hope 2013 will be even better! Happy new year!

  4. tiff said:

    Hey happy new years Leanne!

    I always enjoy the pictures that you take. Especially the food and your cute outfits. So keep it up :D I’m looking forward to more of your fun pictures and adventures in the new year.

  5. Omg is that the photo of the kitty you befriended? So adorable!! The ears!!!! Congrats on your career doctor! That’s amazing and inspiring too! I wished we had fancy buffets here too =( I wish you and your loved ones a happy and safe new year~

    P.S Hahaha I understand what you mean that make up was the easiest to buy since it was probably everywhere not to mention small and easy to take home. I’m often strict on myself when I travel too and usually end up regretting stuff I did not buy and guess what, I tell myself I won’t do it again and then I do! Ugh! LOL

  6. winn said:

    Happy new year Leanne! I only started travelling this year, can’t even imagine what it’ll be like doing it alone! I need to work on blogging and commenting again, totally turned into a lurking creeper last year. Looking forward to reading your new posts ^^

  7. Happy new year to you too, Lea!

    Wishing you the best for this coming year as well – when I think back on my year, I’ve done so much as well – I’ve just completely failed to blog about it! Yeesh! Need to keep on track! Also, NYC = WINNING! I can see you loved it as much as I did!

    To bigger and better things in 2013!

    x

  8. Lolo said:

    HAPPY NEW YEAR, LEANNEEEEE!!!!!!! ^________^
    You’ve achieved so much this year~ I’m so proud of you! May 2013 be an even greater adventure!!!!

Leave a Reply

