Happy Vietnamese New Year!

As much as I wanted to blog more this year, it has been difficult to fit it in since I started work two weeks ago. The first week was Orientation week which involved getting rid of the cobwebs developed over the Summer and then last week was my first official week of working as a doctor. For my first rotation (10 weeks) I will be in Horsham (country town 4 hours away from Melbourne) doing General Surgery.

I went home over the weekend to celebrate Chinese/Vietnamese New Year and just arrived back in Horsham 2 hours ago, exhausted from the drive. In many ways I’m surprised I survived the first week of work… and my patients have been okay.

It’s so weird working 5-6 days a week and being accountable. As a medical student I was used to asking the Intern for help or his or her signature on a drug chart I completed or a medical certificate I filled in, but now I’m the one with the important signature. It’s scary!

Last week I was looking after the Surgical patients on the ward and in ICU, this week I’ll have my time in the Operating Theatre, hopefully having the chance to help out.

There’s limited internet here, so I am using my Iphone as a modem, so my posts may have less images but I hope the content is still exciting :p

Happy Chinese/Vietnamese New Year!

4 comments
  1. Anna said:

    Happy new years!

    I’m so happy for you, about the job and finished med studies and all. I’m sure you’re a great doctor! Can’t wait to hear more about your adventures.

  2. Thao said:

    HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!

    ~ With great power comes great responsibility. ~ No pressure! :P Just remember to live in the moment and enjoy everything. You’ll be great.

  3. Tara said:

    Happy New Year :)

    Btw, did you get my email?

  4. Minna said:

    Exciting! I haven’t congratulated you (I think) so I have to do that now. CONGRATULATIONS! Doctor, wow! And I didn’t get to see you in Melbourne, that sucks. It was very cold but the transportation is SO much better than Sydney. But what’s up with the Turkish restaurants?! Anyways, hope you’re having so much fun in your new profession. Best of luck! :-)

Leave a Reply

