I’ve finished Med School!

I came home from my amazing medical elective in Austria a week ago and without proper rest I had to go to Uni for my last week of Med school. It was odd sitting in a lecture theatre and enduring day-long presentations again after 3 years being away from it. It was a great week- probably the best I’ve had in my 5 years in this course. It was basically a week of preparing us for Internship and inspiring us for the next big step of our lives.

Two messages I got from the week were:
1. I am truly lucky to have the opportunity to study Medicine. I have learnt many hard lessons about mankind and myself and have become a better person because of it. I’m shit scared but incredibly excited about acquiring those 2 letters “Dr.” in front of my name in 2 weeks time at the Graduation ceremony. The speakers made me realise that I’m in a very privileged position to make change and I really hope I use it.

2. It’s okay to not know where you’re heading. It’s probably better to go with the flow and grab opportunities when they arise. What you want to do now is not necessary what you will do in 10 years time. Have an open mind. Foster your passions. Don’t just be a doctor; be a writer, an artist, a violinist, whatever fills you with exquisite happiness! When things don’t go to plan, take another path, create another path– there’s more than one way to get somewhere. Most importantly, as cliche as it sounds… it’s the journey, not the destination, so enjoy it and take some short or even long breaks along the way :)

Last night we kicked off our busy Graduation calendar with Graduation Cocktails at the Wharf Hotel. The lovely girls Niki and Jess organised an awesome event! It was so nice to see everyone so relaxed and happy and I felt so fortunate to be celebrating with such amazing people who I know will do great things!

Some snapshots from the fun-filled night :)

5 comments
  1. Maggie said:

    Congratulations! That’s a huge achievement! Your dress looks gorgeous :)

  2. Lolo said:

    LEANNE!!!!!!!! I AM SO PROUD <3
    Even though we've never met…I've been reading about you applying to med school…entering med school…going through med school…and now finishing…and I feel like i've been following you along your journey~ I'm so happy you've made it and I can't wait to read about your new adventures~
    Congratulations ^________________^

  3. M said:

    congratulations!! :D :D

  4. Becca said:

    congratulations! such a big accomplishment, I barely know you and you make me so proud! haha…

    By the way I’m loving the hair + dress! very ethereal/goddess-like <3

Leave a Reply

