So far in Graz, Austria


The last two weeks have been crazy in a way I could have never imagined. When I signed up myself for this, my intention was to travel. I didn’t realise this was going to be big for me until the day I took off from Melbourne Airport. This is the first time I have ever travelled by myself! Actually sit alone on the plane, be solely responsible for all my belongings and papers, be my sole navigator and to live in a city where I knew nobody.

I admit I was terrified! I felt extremely lonely in the first 3 days, however once I got my hands on internet and met a few people and wandered into the university city of Graz on my own things have gotten easier.

What I really love about this city is the colour and architecture. I love it when I walk down the street and pass greens, yellows, oranges and blues.

I love the details on the buildings. Each building is like a work of art and a piece of art history.

Simply gorgeous.

It’s not Europe without their beautiful churches and their touch of gold.

You know you’re in a university city when the popular eating places have pizza and beer. For €3.80 you get this “mini” pizza with your choice of 4 toppings. Also had tried my hand of Raddler (beer) which is way suited for me compared to the beer back home in Melbourne. They also mix this beer with lemonade!

I haven’t seen as much of Graz as I would like to because I’m at the University hospital from Monday to Friday 8am-4pm. I’m hoping to see more this weekend and then plan some trips to see the rest of Austria in the coming weeks. :)

Hope everyone has a great weekend!

3 comments
  1. M said:

    enjoy yourself and be safe
    i hope you make friends soon

  2. Lolo said:

    YAYYYYYYYYYYY~ I am so happy you are settling in ~ Explore as much as you can and take lots and lots of photos for us hehehehe~

  3. Lissy said:

    um, wow, wow and wow! Take more pictures! And that is some crazy cheap pizza! The cheapest pizza I saw in Rome was twice that.

Leave a Reply

