Saturday morning

I love having Saturday morning off work. It means I can stay out late on a Friday night and sleep in the next day. It means a brunch date with my boyfriend.

We’ve been both busy and it has been a while since we’ve had a sit down date. Afterall our favourite activity is to scour the streets of Melbourne and find the most delicious meals. Today we stopped by Gypsey & Musquito, a new cafe on Bridge Road, named after two Australian bushrangers and the menu follows the theme. The place has a cosy feel with the front counter decked out with homemade lamingtons and tarts and gourmet sandwiches. I ordered the potato and herb hash with free range bacon and poached eggs with lemon myrtle hollandaise. I think what would’ve made it from “okay” to “superb” if the hash was crispy.

My boyfriend had the “brekkie skillet” which was filled with the usual breakfast suspects: mushrooms, spinach, bacon, tomato, torn pieces of toast topped with crocodile sausage, pouched egg and riberry confit. Boyfriend reported it was surprisingly sweet (I think it was due to the riberry confit) but reasonable.

There was a bit of a mix up with my order, so I was given a hot chocolate on the house. Food was reasonable; would go again for the friendly atmosphere, staff and the Australian inspired menu.

3 comments
  1. Lissy said:

    crocodile sausage? sounds interesting

  2. Lolo said:

    YUUUUUUUUUUUM~ It’s 3 am over here and i am starving hahaha….these photos are unfair ;____; i want…

    ^______^ I’m glad you have Saturdays off~ <3

  3. tiff said:

    Those dishes look really fun and delicious.

    I’m hungry now, thanks a lot!

Leave a Reply

