The Art of the Brick

Needed a much needed outing after weeks of fretting about CVs andย cover letters while balancing uni/hospital requirements. Today went to The Art of the Brick Exhibition, which was amazing and inspiring!

Nathan Sawaya is a New York lawyer turned full time freelance artist who builds sculptures from Lego. From close you can see the detail of the Lego piece but from afar the straight lines and angles merge into curves. I admire him for choosing a well-known medium many of us as kids grew up with but also following his passion.

Here are a few of my favourite pieces. Don’t want to spoil it for those who are considering going. The tickets are cheap but it is better if you book ahead because it sells out very quickly. Definitely recommend if you’re in Melbourne!!!

6 comments
  1. Tara said:

    Oooh, that’s very interesting :D Love the concept!

  2. Maggie said:

    Wow! That is so amazing and agree with Tara that it’s an amazing concept! Wonder if it’ll come to NZ…. it’d be very awesome to see! ^_^

  3. Amanda said:

    Wow that looks AMAZING. I doubt it would come to NZ though. Dammit, I’ve gotta tell my friend about this, he’s currently holidaying in Melbourne!

  4. My Linh said:

    Checking by your blog again. Wish I had more time to read what you are up to. I am so busy… can’t write for my own blog, haha and after I am just too tired to be online at all… sigh. Anyway, the exhibition looks fun. I think I have seen the first picture of the exhibition already somewhere. :) I love Lego! XD

  5. Lissy said:

    very cool. they always have a bunch of lego sculptures in downtown disney. fun stuff :)

  6. Thao said:

    Wow! That’s so cool! Haha, why didn’t I think of that when I was a kid?

Leave a Reply

