Two week catch up

This is going to be a catch up post for the past 2 weeks. Things have been very busy. Actually this year so far has been more busy than expected. It’s approaching that time of year again where assignments & assessments are due and on top of that may have diagnosed a girl with a bleeding disorder, examined a newborn, had a boy confess his love for me and have discovered that I had a cousin who is the Associated Professor of Surgery in Stony Brook Uni hospital in NY! Life has been interesting…

I’m on the look out for a Medical elective and have had my eyes set on America for a very long time. Basically we have 6 weeks next year to do whatever we want.. medical related of course. The medical related part has been some what troubling for me, since I have no idea what I want to do, but America, esp. NY as a travel destination is probably the reason why I have my sights set on thee. UNFORTUNATELY, Stony Brook Hospital has no room for International med students and my cousin’s suggestion to try Mount Sinai and NYU at first looked very appealing but after reading the “Requirement” section I nearly passed out. There is so much red tape and it’s so expensive :( Now I’m considering Canada. Anyone have any suggestions of hospitals, universities…???

In other news…

I’ve been studying Paeds like crazy because I’m attached to Paeds this coming week. =__=;; I’m not very comfortable with Paeds.. I think it’s due to the lack of exposure and vagueness of it all. Thank god for handbooks.

Have discovered my favourite French crepery cafe. So french, so yum :3

I’m driving around in my 2nd hand Toyota Corolla Conquest car. It’s sooo cute! I love it’s square lights. :P

Jason dropped by with a box of cupcakes last weekend :D

Who has seen the Madonna Glee Episode?! Wasn’t it amazing!!! LOVE LOVE LOVE.

Went out for Chinese last night and ate some crispy duck with plum sauce. I’m craving more!

Okay off for 3:30itis break then back to study.

14 comments
  1. f said:

    Oh boy, my mom works at a hospital (registered nurse) but I honestly cannot think of any hospitals here… plus the environment here is kind of hot like Australia, so I don’t think you’d want too much of the same, haha. Good luck in finding a hospital, though!

  2. emma said:

    my university is actually pretty famous for medicine

    university of british columbia, i doubt it’s cheap though, food’s kickass here

  3. Maggie said:

    Ah the cupcakes are so cute! Tiny Teddies!! ^_^

  4. Thao said:

    How about California? XD

    If you want city life, there’s San Francisco and LA (although I personally don’t really like LA). UC San Francisco has an excellent med school and UCLA isn’t bad either. Of course, none of these places can compare to the city life of NY but their med school and centers are pretty good.

  5. Lorik said:

    YUM CREPES. ;____; man that looks so good.

    What Thao said!!! “How about California?”??!?!?
    honestly, I don’t know which med schools are the best but I know UCLA is alright~ My sister goes there…she is pre-law.

    The cupcakes are too cute for me. I get so sad when I have to eat cute things…so I don’t ;___;

  6. Leanne said:

    All these desserts are making me hungry! *__*

    I was looking to do a semester at NYU too but my uni doesn’t have a partnership there so it’s just too hard to get in! Insaneeeeeee but imagine if we could go to NYU at the same time! How awesome would that be? I don’t really know anything about Canadian schools but I’ve heard Toronto is pretty good but won’t it be freezing?! Go Cali! Warm weather = yay!

  7. mich said:

    hi!
    my brother is doing his residency in Kingston, ON, Canada. It’s by the lake but the town itself i don’t know how much life there is. There is a student district though because of the associated university. Hope this helps. Or else you could always look into UT in toronto for some city life?

  8. jessica said:

    Oh, I go to Stony Brook for undergrad! But I applied to their med school and they rejected me :( I’m not really familiar with med schools in Canada so I can’t really give you anything. There are other med schools in NY, I know a little about them if you had any questions about those still ^^

  9. Becca said:

    the teddy bear cupcakes!!! NOM!

  10. Amanda said:

    Gaaah those are the cutest cupcakes ever – LOVE tiny teddies! Good luck for finding somewhere to spend your time overseas though – NY sounds amazing, and it’s on my list of to-visit places, but evidently i’m not the only one with price issues! ><

  11. Shiri said:

    Oh yum those foods look so delicious! At first I only saw the top of the book photo and thought to myself “hmm, harry potter!” :D I guess I was very wrong. Colorful medical books :D

  12. Leann said:

    You could go to Toronto if you want the city life. Their Sunnybrook Hospital seems really nice. There’s also Princess Margaret. Or maybe Vancouver.. there are so many beautiful places to visit around there! Especially mountains :)

  13. Gothart said:

    I was looking to do a semester at NYU too but my uni doesn’t have a partnership there so it’s just too hard to get in! Insaneeeeeee but imagine if we could go to NYU at the same time! How awesome would that be? I don’t really know anything about Canadian schools but I’ve heard Toronto is pretty good but won’t it be freezing?! Go Cali! Warm weather = yay!
    +1

  14. Jenii said:

    BUSAAAY!

    Is good as long as you find time to relax XD

    Have you considered Philadelphia? We’re roughly 2 hours from NYC and have quite a few unis specializing in medicine (3 of which have hospitals I believe); University of Pennsylvania, University of the Sciences in Philadelphia (USP), Temple University (my ex-uni) to name the majors (from most $$$ to least)

    Philadelphia’s a weird city…part high-rise part neighborhoods…

    I believe we also have quite the active and happening beer scene as well ;D We’re working on our bakery front. There’s also this creperie-caberet joint I’ve been wanting to visit…

Leave a Reply

