Happy Birthday Mummy & Daddy

My parents’ Birthdays are around the same time of the year so my little sis and I decided to shout them dinner at Berth Bar and Restaurant in Docklands. I’ve  never dined in Docklands before and found the atmosphere very relaxing. It really reminded me of Darling Harbour in Sydney however not as popular.

For Starters my Dad had the Potato and leek soup, which was nice and creamy; Mum had the Crumbed Calamari served with pickled beetroot salad and aioli sauce, the calamari batter was the highlight and I was very impressed by the pickled beetroot salad because I’m usually not a fan of beetroot.

I ordered the Bruschetta for my sister and I, which was deliciously fresh. The bread was topped with cherry tomatoes, spanish onion and basil with crumbled fetta and olive oil.

For Mains, Mum had Spaghetti Marinara, Dad had Mushroom risotto, Pauline had the Chicken Involtini and I had Lamb Shanks.

Lamb shanks were pretty good. The sauce reminded me of the ragu Mum cooks at home, but I prefer barbaqued lamb to braised lamb. 

Chicken Involtini was chicken breast filled with spinach, capsicum, pecorino cheese and prosciutto served with mash potato and tomato relish.

I personally thought the Starters menu was more creative and sounded more appealing than the Main menu. The Entree serving was very substantial and could have made a nice lunch. I would have liked a more seafood inspired menu since the restaurant is situated at the water’s edge but the service was excellent and the food was overall pretty good.

It’s been ages since my family went out for dinner and it was nice. No bickering or grumbling. Mum and Dad seemed to have a good time. It was nice.

7 comments
  1. Thao said:

    *drools* The food looks delightful! I’m sure your parents enjoyed themselves.

  2. Tara said:

    I’m glad you guys had a great time. Those food looks all delish!

    Also, when I saw Docklands, I misread it as Ducklands. XD I was thinking huh in my head when I first saw it.

  3. Nancy said:

    Happy birthday to your parents! Those food looks delicious! Lamb shanks looks delicious. :P I never liked uniforms because of the dress code :/
    Enjoy!

  4. Lorik said:

    Yummmmmmm looks so good! I love the bruschetta!
    happy birthday to your parents Leanne~ ^_____^

  5. Hazel said:

    Man oh man, the food looks divine! Look at that tomato– yummmmm

    I want some Italian food now!

    PS. My mom uses ragu too :)

  6. sheidz said:

    Everything is mouth-watering. I am getting real hungry now, heheh. I’m glad you all had a good time. :) Happy Birthday to your Mom and Dad!

  7. Bonnie said:

    AH ! BRUSHCHETTA YUMMM. happy birthday to your parents ! yummy.

Leave a Reply

