Burnt out

I’ve been feeling really under the weather since Semester 2 has started. Instead of a sense of refreshness I expected after a 4 week break, I came back feeling really fatigued and blue. As weeks have passed, I still have yet to gain the momentum I was hoping to kick in for my end of year exams and life in general.

I’m constantly tired and I have no motivation to do anything except sleep. It has been reflected in my tute presentations, where the tutors have implied my lack of preparedness. I go home and sit in front of my laptop and my eyes wander aimlessly through the same websites again and again for hours until I pass out. I’ve had tears in my room and the other day my insides really wanted to crack it at a patient. I just wanted to tell her “Shut up! Shut up! It shouldn’t hurt anymore!” :(

I was planning to have a spiel about my year thus far this week  (since we are half way through) and analyse the goals I had at the beginning of the year and refresh them to remotivate myself to finish this year in a proud fashion. However, I’m so out of sorts right now  I think I should take some time to rejuvinate.           

11 comments
  1. Tara said:

    Yike, feeling burnt out is never a good thing *hugs* You need to unwind and get some time to rejuvenate yourself, girl!

  2. jessica said:

    Aww, I know how you feel. Whenever I start a semester, I’m like bleh, but towards the end, I feel the pressure and I get all motivated. And don’t mind the patients, there’s always going to be people that don’t seem to cooperate :(

  3. Anna said:

    Aw, I hope everything will be better for you soon! Hang in there. Sometimes I’m like that too at the start of a new semester. Not so ready to start.

  4. tart said:

    =)i understand entirely… sounds exactly how i feel

  5. Jen said:

    Ugh I know the feeling. I hope it goes away soon!

  6. emma said:

    it’s called SAD, i have it too, seasonal something depression!
    you should talk to your doctor about it, they suggested that i either get a lamp (sun lamp) or take pills
    i decided against it
    but hopefully this year i can fight it
    try reading this book that i’m reading currently “science of happiness” by stefan klein. it’s good because it talks about it in non-laymans terms and it’s not like ,oh do this and be happy it’s super scientific which i like it
    and im sure u will to, ms.medstudent!

  7. Leanne said:

    Taking time out is always the best solution when you’re feeling blue. I hope you start to feel better soon! :) ♥

  8. Jen said:

    Uni really knows how to devour you, body & soul. I hope you can find the strength to just make it through without tearing yourself apart for lack of motivation. It happens and it’s not your own fault to blame. It’s an overwhelming time.

  9. Cynthia said:

    oh nooo! you sound like a commercial for being depressed … have you thought about seeing a psychologist to talk about things? i mean, i have those days too of unmotivation and lethargy but if it’s constant than it might be something little more serious. :(
    GL

  10. Daisy said:

    all the stress in school and worries in life can have that kind of effect. sometimes i just feel that nothing is worth it and there’s nothing to look forward to anymore.
    i’d suggest talk to someone, let it all out, and try to keep yourself busy without getting too tired, having something to do is always more satisfying than none =3
    i hope you’ll feel all better soon!

  11. Lorik said:

    Leanne~~~ im sorry you are feeling like this….tomorrow my school starts…and Im super nervous and sad…but im trying to be positive and just allow myself to be okay…..its really hard for me to do that cause i have developed this habbit….but im trying my best! I know its hard to motivate yourself sometimes, but don’t give up~~~ i’m always here if you ever need anyone to talk to (if it helps~~~~). take care of yourself~~~ ^______________^

Leave a Reply

