Wondrous Winter Weekend

As the title of this entry suggests I had a magnificent weekend which I’m still beaming about. Three glorious activities from different ends of the culture spectrum in two days.

Let’s start on the beautiful Saturday afternoon, where I went to the Salvador Dali: Liquid Desire exhibition at the National Gallery of Victoria (NGV). This was the first ever proper exhibition for Dali’s work in Australia and it definitely lived up to my expectations… actually more! I’ve always known him as a Surrealist and he is one of my favourite surrealist artists, but now I love him even more after discovering his endless talents in photography, painting, drawing, filming, jewellery making and fashion design! I can’t believe it, he collaborated with Alfred Hitchcock, Walt Disney and Coco Chanel! Also understanding how his worked progressed; from Impressionism to the sexually anxious teenager and interest in Sigmund Freud’s theories which influenced his later styles  Dada, Cubism, Surrealism and then a fascination for the Renaissance mixed with his interest of the atom bomb project, towards the end of his life. I’m in awe! Unfortunately we had to rush towards the end because the gallery was closing, maybe if I have time, I might go back :)

Later that night, there was a party at Golden Monkey to celebrate Jono’s achievements of finishing med school and getting a job at the Alfred Hospital for intern year! I have heard so many great compliments about this bar that I had to go… and to congratulate Jono too, of course :p

The place was awesome! The lady bouncer at the front was hilarious and the atmosphere, decor, food and drinks of the place was brilliant. It had a very Chinese theme infused with modern influence and the bar staff were the greatest! I had a cocktail which I think was called Lotus Stance, which had berries and liqour and garnished with burnt rosemary. My friend and I also shared another cocktail called Tommy’s Magharita which the bartender recommended and it was delightful especially with the sugar rimmed glass. We also had Asian Tapas and the chilli prawn wontons were to die for! Definitely definitely coming here again! :D

Sunday night was Dr Sketchy’s Winter Salon at Madame Brussel’s Bar. A lovely relaxing evening of lounging and sketching two stunning models. The venue was like an indoor garden, with its white curly twirly furniture and hedge bar; it made me feel like Alice and this was my Wonderland. :p Tracey and I shared their famous pouched chicken, chive and mayo toasted sandwiches served with lemon wedges and Tabasco, mmmmm.

 

Anthony was an unbelievable model. He had the sexiest shoes too!

Marawa was simply stunny !

9 comments
  1. Lorik said:

    awesome photos~ i remember seeing a Dali film in my art history class and it was so confusing, but very interesting…like it stayed in your head….it still pops up in mine haha

    i love the sketches~~

  2. Tara said:

    Great pictuers as always! :D All those cocktails and food makes want to get tipsy and enjoy a good meal! :D

  3. Caity said:

    Oh wow sounds like you had a fantastic weekend! I am so jealous you got to see a Salvador Dali exhibit. Those foods and drinks also look amazing!

  4. Heh! Looks like a very fun weekend! :D

    I can’t wait to see the Dali exhibition – not sure if it’s coming to Brisbane – but I sure will be stalking the museum if it does!

    Dr. Sketchy’s! Dammn, if only Brisbane would host one! Unfortunately, we’re like a cultural death pit D:

  5. Anna said:

    Great drawings! And yes the models are stunning!

    Looks like you had a blast!

  6. Thao said:

    Sounds like a really fun weekend. I really want to make time and sit down to sketch things. My sketch books are still so very blank….need to make use of it.

  7. Winn said:

    wow that place looks gorgeous! So jealous there’s so many great hangouts in aus >_<;

  8. hannie said:

    wow, those drinks look so goood! and amazing!!!!

    and you are SO LUCKY you went to a salvador dali exhibit..SO JEALOUS

  9. Jamie said:

    Thank you, sounds like you had an interesting weekend. Wish I could have those! And thanks for the compliment on the layout. Makes me feel warm and cozy inside lol. Anyway, I wanna go there!

Leave a Reply

