Whooah, we’re half way there!

Last night was the Half-way Dinner, which celebrated reaching the midpoint of the Bachelor of Medicine/Bachelor of Surgery degree. I can’t believe I’m half-way through; it’s only been 2 and a half years and now we have another 2 and a half years until we become doctors.

It was a night of mingling, rekindling and dancing. It was lovely to see old faces which once greeted me everyday at Uni and also see new faces I’ve befriended this year at the Alfred hospital. After 17 weeks of 7/8 am starts and 5pm finishes, wardrounds, tutes, drillings by consultants, seeing patients & free pens, it was a relaxing note to end Semester 1 and start our mid-year holiday. Shirts, ties, highwaisted skirts and stethoscopes were replaced by the infamous black dress, killer heels and glasses filled with the good stuff.

The place was also a club so we thrashed our heads and shook our bootays until 2 the following morning. Afterwards, a group of us walked over to Tracey and Syahir’s house with our heels in one hand and the other holding our jackets close because it was a frosty night. We stopped by Lord of the Fries and for the first time tried poutine, a Canadian delicacy I’ve heard a lot about recently :D I can’t believe it’s here in Melbourne! My verdict: it’s definitely fitting for a late night snack or after a long sleep-in. Jason and I bought poutine again on our way home today :p

Want poutine?

Fell asleep around 4 and then woke up at 8 because I had to tutor at 10am, but then my student called sick so then I stayed at Tracey/Syahir’s and slept til noon. Hehe~

YAY IT’S HOLIDAYS!!!   (^ㅂ^)/

16 comments
  1. Anna said:

    Congratulations Leanne! And I’m glad you had a great time! You look gorgeous in these photos! I love your dress!

  2. Lorik said:

    ^___________^ Congratulations Leanne~~~ You have been working so hard..now you can finally relax~~
    so..is poutine the stuff that goes on the fries? or is the whole thing together called poutine? sorry if I sound stupid haha~

    Take care and have lots of fun!!~

  3. hannie said:

    congrats! i’m going to be a doctor in about 3 more years…hopefully! haha

    and you look very fashionable as always!

    poutine? what’s that? OH and i was going to ask you if you ate “vegemite” !!!?!?!? i want to try it but alot of americans dont like it!

  4. Thao said:

    Woohoo! You’re half way there! Congrats! And I love your dress. It’s so adorable!

    I’m so jealous you have poutine there. After hearing so much about it from Katy, I really want to try!!

  5. winn said:

    fries with gravy is so yummy :9 congrats on getting halfway with your degree!

  6. tiff said:

    I swear, that hairstyle of yours looks sooo good on you.

  7. HAH Lord of the Fries!! There’s a great place near my old college in NYC that served only many kinds of french fries “Des Pomme Frites”

    You look so nice in those photos!

  8. Ahh, I’m Canadian! I rarely have poutine though, so that’s so funny. Did yours have lots of cheese? It looks more doused in gravy!

    But you look so pretty and it looks like you had a fun time! Congrats on making it halfway through!

  9. emma said:

    congratulations
    i dont wanna graduate
    too fast
    too scary
    but the party looks fun
    tho im not a big fan of poutine
    that looks good!

  10. Afef said:

    :) congrats on arriving half way! Wow time flies doesn’t it? Next thing you’ll know you’ll be writing about graduation :D!

    (i LOVE your dress btw!)

  11. Lily said:

    OMG you’re going to be a doctor?? I wish I could graduate a doctor but I’m clearly not doctor-ing material :(
    You’re so pretty and I adore your dress <3

  12. Steph said:

    WOOT! Congratulations!!!
    I can’t wait until I’m half way through my course…though whenever I count down, it sounds scary too ‘O’

    Your dress is gorgeous. I love black dresses ’cause they’re never outdated :P

  13. Leanne said:

    Yay! Congrats on making it half way :D I can’t believe it’s been so long already~ It only feels like yesterday when I got a letter from you saying you got into medicine. Ahhhhh~ I want to try poutine too! It looks so yum but stupid Sydney D:

  14. Daisy said:

    haha, the canadian delicacy! did you like it? xD
    you looked gorgeous, the bow on your dress is so cute :3

  15. Joann said:

    Relax and enjoy! It looks like despite all the stress and work and trying to keep up with everything, you really are having the time of your life!

  16. Jen said:

    Yay for half way there. I wish I could only have 2-1/2 years to go.
    Poutine, haven’t tried it yet, but the pictures never fail to make me drool. Gahh!

Leave a Reply

