Cupcake, vodka & tears

Sometimes things get really intense and it can be really distressing at the hospital. I’m constantly feeling stupid and despite reassurances that I’m not alone and that I’m only at the beginning doesn’t really help. It’s slowly getting to me… 

As the weeks go by it seems harder and harder to focus and be motivated. I really want to blog and vent but there’s no time. I look forward to the weekend so much because it’s my Med-free time and I use it to catch up with friends & to do things which make my heart flutter. Last week I caught up with highschool friends and laughed and talked the night away til 1am. I also had the best gnocchi ever! I bumped into two other long time friends in Harbour City and seeing them happy and all dressed up in their work clothes brought a smile to my face. While I’m at the Alfred, they are obtaining experience by working at law firms and suddenly our futures don’t seem so distant. We are growing up but we can still take the piss out of one another, hehe :p  On Saturday night I attended a housewarming party  with Uni friends and we spent the night eating Indian food, having weird adventures in Prahran and playing Street Fighter :D

This week was particularly upsetting because I’m watching one of my Unit’s patients slowly die. His treatment was removed early this week and now, we’re just waiting for the inevitable. I also witnessed a patient in the ED screaming in agony during a procedure despite giving her the maximum dose of local anaesthetic. She was riving and screaming in pain, yelling “no” and begging us to let her die. I can do blood but when it comes to emotions and pain.. I can’t. I know it’s something I’ll need to get used to… :/   My friend Michael heard that I was feeling pretty down about this ordeal and came out to see me afterwards. He was so sweet; he bought me a velvet cupcake and an ice chocolate drink from my fav cupcake shop to cheer me up. It was so sweet of him and I felt like a little girl… 

Last night was Hamon’s Birthday and we celebrated with dinner on Chapel Street. I had the nicest pumpkin and spinach risotto ever! Afterwards we went to the Borsh, Vodka and Tears bar (my favourite vodka bar!) and had drinks. We sipped on drinks with names like Little Red Riding Hood, Angel with a Broken Heart, Spoilt Princess and Keith Richards. We also taste tested Vodka and to my amusement, the Vodka I disliked the most was described as “the taste of marriage.” Hahaha~

By the way…. I got Jason Mraz tickets for his concert in April!!!! ♥ 

16 comments
  1. winn said:

    the strawberry one looks really cute D:
    i don’t really drink alcohol… but it makes me want to try it :D/

  2. Ellie said:

    jason mraz ;__;
    gosh you lucky lucky girl.

  3. Minna said:

    I’m glad in a way that you’re a little ahead fo me and have a better insight so that I can prepare. I understand that this patient gets to you, and people who scream in agony and pain is absolutely horrible. And I know most of my patients, well almost everyone, will be people in really bad pain and the things we do to them usually hurt too, in the beginning. You’re so lucky to have a friend who cares so much! <3

    I’d love to go vodka sipping and drink drinking with you – ah sounds relaxing hehe. I guess it’s well deserved after a weeks med studies? Strawberries! I guess we have to wait a few months up here ;-)

  4. Ine said:

    Hey!
    Congrats on gettin’ tickets! And I’m really sorry to hear about your patient… I really don’t know what else to say…
    I love the pictures in this post, btw :) And I’ve been waiting for a new post for a while now – I love reading your blog!

  5. Anna said:

    I can’t imagine how it would be to go through something like that, but I’m sure it’s hard and difficult.

    I’m happy that you had a lovely weekend with good friends and exotic-named drinks though! :D You deserve it!

    I’m sure you’ll be a great doctor when you grow up, and learn from every experience and you’ll be the best :)

    <3

  6. Nanako said:

    jason has a really calm voice :3

    Any medical career to me seems like it takes both brain strength and emotional strength! You already know that of course, so I wish you luck :)
    You really have great friends, no matter what you know they’re going to help you up.

  7. Aw, I’m sorry to hear that it is going hard for you. I know if I was in your position, I don’t think I’d be able to handle that stuff. Your friend sounds really sweet to take care of you like that.

  8. Thao said:

    Being in the hospital can be really intense and straining on your body, physically and mentally. All I can say is that you just have to trust people and have faith in them when they say that things will get better. You can do it! You’ve already grown so much!

  9. daisy said:

    it must be hard to see things like that going on all the time.. i dont know what to say because anything would seem easier said than done in this situation, but i’m sure you’re doing your best to help them & find the best way to deal with these things!

  10. Louise said:

    Those cupcakes look so good!

    Sorry to hear about your patient. It seems like one of the toughest things to have to go through when you work in the medical profession. I don’t know if I would ever get used to it.

  11. emma said:

    i wanna see jason mraz! lucky you ^___^
    yeah i dont think i have the guts to be a doctor

  12. Tiff said:

    Oh no. I am the worst when it comes to emotions and stuff like that. I can’t do it even in movies, so how will I do med and deal with it in real life?

    There’s not that much I can say. I’ve never really been in this sort of situation before… I guess you may end up emotionally maturing to deal with thees things but don’t rush it. You always sound like you’re rushing to be something you’re not (admittedly you did just start your hospital thing; feeling stupid is inevitable). It will come in time. You probably hate hearing that but you can’t rush what’s natural.

  13. Gel said:

    It’s sweet of him to bring you cupcakes! Too bad the cupcake shop that I love going to is far from my house so it’s really a hassle to go there. Very much out of the way from my house. Boo :(

    Have fun watching Jason Mraz live! I’m not a fan of him. I’ve only heard some of his songs that were played on the radio and they’re pretty good.

  14. Katy said:

    What a sweet friend of yours to bring you stuff to cheer you up after a long day.

    When I was little, I wanted to be a doctor, then a surgeon and then a pediatrician. I’ve always wanted to work in a hospital to help people but now, I don’t think I can go through with the schooling. =S

  15. Karen said:

    Wow, that’s so intense…. Pain and emotions are hard to get over with. But I guess this is when we realize the cruelty of life and reality :( I’m glad to hear that you have supportive friends beside you.

  16. Jenii said:

    I can never go into med. I couldn’t handle that sort of thing ;_;

    But definitely glad to hear that even though you’re not blogging, you’re having a blast! Don’t feel bad about not blogging, ne?

    So sweet of your buddy to cheer you up like that. You’re really blessed to be surrounded by lovely friends like that :D

    OMG…so many strawberry slices @_@ YOM!

Leave a Reply

