Week In Review 090214

Summer fruits

My Mum has a knack for picking fresh and juicy fruits so when it is Summer time our house is spoiled with choice. I’ve been munching on rockmelon all week!

So this was my first week of “unemployment” (as my friends like to endearingly term it) and I’m proud to say it’s been productive. It’s still weird knowing I won’t be stepping into a hospital or be called Doctor for at least another 6 months but it’s also a bit of a relief to have a break from all that. I’ve been cleaning and organising; it’s funny how much time I spend looking after people at work and how little I do on myself. I had piles of financial paperwork, receipts, insurance, bills sprawled out on my desk and that took me 2+ hours to file them into “appropriate” folders. Also sorting through my clothes and dividing them into “sell on Ebay” and “donate” has been crazy but it’s a good feeling to step into this year a little bit more organised and less “cluttered.”

Golden Fields Lobster rolles

On a 40’C day my friend and I went to St Kilda for lobster rolls and then escaped the heat to watch Robocop, which was really enjoyable. Anything involving the debate of human and machine tugs at my heart-strings.

I hope to travel in the middle of this year and I’ve been looking through travel sites and magazines. I’m dreaming of a sailing through the Greek Islands or wandering the beautiful streets of Eastern Europe. There is a tour which starts from Hungary through to Bulgaria, Romania and ends in Turkey which sounds amazing! I’ll be visiting the travel agent this week to collect more information.

A week left until I start my Graphic Design course! I’ve been receiving emails from the college HQ and it’s becoming real! The course suggests purchasing an Apple computer or laptop which I have yet to decide. I own an ASUS 15 inch laptop and it works reasonably well so I’m not sure if purchasing another laptop is ideal, though it is more portable if I want to take it to class or elsewhere. Ahh decisions! :p

Have a wonderful weekend! xx

3 comments
  1. Amanda said:

    I’m excited for you that you’re doing what you want to do! I’m sure you’re going to have so much fun on the graphic design course, and I can’t wait to read about it.

    Also, thank you for the kind words — I guess I am ultimately doing what I want to do, just not ALL the things I want to do, because it’s difficult to cram them all in at once… I guess uni has a way of eating into creative time, even if I one of my degrees is a “creative” degree. Btw, I bought my first Apple laptop last year and I’ve really enjoyed it. Since you’ll be doing graphic design and I guess, like me, will be wanting to enjoy better specs (rather than all those students who just buy Apple to look cool and only use facebook and MS Word!), I would recommend the Macbook Pro 13″ with Retina display. I have the 2013 model and it’s been great — also so thin and light that many people wondered if it was “a new Air” because it’s not chunky ish like the older ones. I wasn’t completely sold on the brilliance of retina display, but after having it, I would never go back because everything looks beautiful.

  2. Thao said:

    At first, I was like what are rockmelons?!?!?! After google search, OOOOHHH CANTALOUPES!

    But then…what are those yellow fruits next to the oranges? @__@

    I think if you get a new laptop, the Macbook Air would be the perfect fit. It’s slim and light, but it’s still pretty powerful (with upgrades if needed). If you really need a CD drive, you can probably buy an external CD drive for cheap.

    • Leanne said:

      Thanks for the advice Thao!
      Haha, we call them rockmelon here in Aus!
      The fruits next to the oranges are peaches :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 69 other followers

