Saké Restaurant & Bar

Woah! It’s been ages since I last did one of these! I felt I just needed a break from taking photos of food and to enjoy it instead. I think I was getting sick of seeing all the food photos flying around mixed in with just wanting to relax after work that taking photos didn’t become “important.”

Sake Restaurant

Yesterday my Boyfriend and I enjoyed the beautiful sunshine by having a late lunch at one of Melbourne’s new additions to the Japanese scene. We discovered this place a few weeks ago and enjoyed the dinner so much, we wanted to try the lunch. It’s in a wonderful location, snuggled in the Arts Centre with a view of the Yarra River and the city. Perfect place for the pre-theatre feast to the post-theatre drinks before heading out on the town.

Since it was mid-afternoon, there were less patrons which suited us fine from the bustling night a few weeks ago. We enjoyed great food, while the Summer breeze washed over us.

Sake Restaurant Spring Breeze

Out of all the Japanese restaurants in Melbourne I’ve been to so far- Saké by far has the best cocktails/mocktails in my opinion. Few weeks ago I had the Pink Blossom cocktail which was delicious and yesterday I decided to go for the mocktail Spring Breeze – sweet and refreshing with its apple, ginger and strawberry mix.

Sashimi Combo Sake Restaurant

We were intrigued by the sushi/sashimi platter because we didn’t order it last time and it looked spectacular as it was being brought out of the kitchen. Definitely can’t go back to the sushi and sashimi  you purchase at the little cafes, after you taste them at these restaurants.

Beef tataki Sake Restaurant

Beef tataki is one of our favourite Japanese dishes. We always order it when we go to a Japanese restaurant and like to compare. Saké’s is definitely meatier and has a more ginger taste to it which is different but good!

Wagyu Tartar Sake Restaurant

Wagyu tartar – I love beef tartar and once again love seeing how different places interpret the dish. This one was less seasoned than others I’ve had – didn’t get the usual kick of spices, however once again different but great!

Popcorn shrimp Sake Restaurant

Popcorn shrimp- the usual tempura favourite coated with creamy sauce. My boyfriend said he could scoff this all down!

Bubble milk tea trifle Sake Restaurant

I’m not keen on Asian desserts, I generally lean towards old-fashioned milk chocolates and vanilla, but the boyfriend insisted we try something. We chose the Bubble Milk Tea Trifle which had layers of white chocolate, caramel, pistachio flavours with tapioca pearls in milk tea. I really enjoyed it! It wasn’t stifling sweet, just enough, and the tea flavoured tapioca pearls made me feel very mellow on this hot Summer’s afternoon.

Great service. Great food. Great location. I want to hold an event here! :oD

Sake Restaurant & Bar (Hamer Hall) on Urbanspoon

5 comments
  1. greg@urbanspoon said:

    Hi ,

    Your first post just appeared on Urbanspoon! Check it out:

    http://www.urbanspoon.com/r/71/1698016/restaurant/Southbank/Sake-Restaurant-Bar-Hamer-Hall-Melbourne

    I encourage you to claim your blog, which allows you to add a picture and change some settings. The blog photo shows up next to your posts wherever they appear on Urbanspoon. Here’s how to claim:

    – Make sure you’re logged into Urbanspoon

    – Go to your blog page on our site: http://www.urbanspoon.com/br/71/9899/Melbourne/HEARTLEA.html

    – Click “Claim your blog” in the left sidebar

    After you submit it, we may contact you to verify your claim. Check your spam email folder if your claim hasn’t gone through in a day or two. You’ll also find some interesting badges and widgets on your Urbanspoon blog page – look in the right sidebar.

    If you have any questions, please contact me via email.

    Thanks,
    Greg

    http://www.urbanspoon.com


    greg(at)urbanspoon(dot)com

  2. Cat said:

    Yum, all of that food looks delicious! I don’t drink much, but when I do, I always go for the fruity cocktails. The Pink Blossom sounds like it’d be really good. I like seeing how different places do tartars too. My favorite wagyu tartar so far is from a place in Las Vegas (Craftsteak). I love going to Japanese restaurants, and this makes me crave Japanese food!

  3. Yummm…
    I don’t drink, but the Pink Blossom looks delicious haha
    It’s always good to find “the” sushi restaurant to go to when you’re craving good sushi :)

    nyuu
    lolitium.net

  4. tiff said:

    Omg…everything looks so YUMMY.

    I don’t really drink that much but the pink blossom–haha jk.

    But really, the pink blossom does look pretty amazing, doesn’t matter whether I drink or not. :P

    If I ever get to visit Melbourne, this is seriously one of the places I have to eat if I’m there!!!

  5. That looks amazing! I need to stop reading your blog and go to bed – it’s making me hungry!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 68 other followers

